Baseball Farm’s 2018 Farmhand Team of the Year


Baseball Farm’s 2018 Farmhand Team of the Year

This month we ran a series of polls on our Twitter (@BaseballFarm) to have our fans select a farmhand at each position for our Farmhand Team of the Year. We first looked at a bunch of our proprietary stats and rankings, and then debated amongst ourselves to come up with four nominees at each position. From there, the fans took over, selecting the Farmhand that they thought had the most impressive year. Here is a recap of the results for each poll:


Winner: MJ Melendez (62% of the vote)Other nominees:

Austin Allen (15%)Daulton Varsho (14%)

Ronaldo Hernandez (9%)

First Base

Winner: Peter Alonso (44%)

Other nominees:

Ryan Noda (26%)

Chad Spanberger (16%)

Nathaniel Lowe (14%)

Second Base

Winner: Keston Hiura (78%)

Other nominees:

Cavan Biggio (12%)

Vidal Brujan (7%)

Brandon Lowe (3%)


Winner: Kevin Smith (36%)

Other nominees:

Gavin Lux (35%)

Wander Franco (26%)

Isaac Paredes (3%)

Third Base

Winner: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (79%)

Other nominees:

Elehuris Montero (12%)

Nolan Jones (5%)

Taylor Ward (3%)

Left Field

Winner: Eloy Jimenez (60%)

Other nominees:

Yordan Alvarez (26%)

Casey Golden (12%)

Christin Stewart (2%)

Center Field

Winner: Jo Adell (79%)

Other nominees:

Drew Waters (15%)

Dom Thompson-Williams (4%)

Ryan McKenna (2%)

Right Field

Winner: Alex Kirilloff (61%)

Other nominees:

Kyle Tucker (32%)

Jose Pujols (4%)

Yusniel Diaz (3%)

Starting Pitcher (AAA->MLB)

Winner: Michael King (39%)

Other nominees:

Josh James (35%)

Touki Toussaint (21%)

Logan Allen (5%)

Starting Pitcher (AA->AAA)

Winner: Chris Paddack (56%)

Other nominees:

Jesus Luzardo (30%)

Patrick Sandoval (8%)

Tyler Wells (6%)

Starting Pitcher (A+->AA)

Winner: Dylan Cease (79%)

Other nominees:

Ian Anderson (15%)

Corbin Martin (4%)

Taylor Widener (2%)

Starting pitcher (A-Full->A+)

Winner: Zac Lowther (38%)

Other nominees:

Tyler Phillips (27%)

Denyi Reyes (26%)

David Parkinson (8%)

Utility Man

Winner: Nick Solak (49%)

Other nominees:

Josh Naylor (24%)

Brendan McKay (16%)

Will Smith (11%)


Winner: Zac Houston (48%)

Other nominees:

Colin Poche (31%)

Tyler Johnson (19%)

Simon Rosenblum-Larson (2%)

One thought on “Baseball Farm’s 2018 Farmhand Team of the Year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *